golgi

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2004
Status (Visible)
Hey guys,

Sorry to complain but I am going crazy. I am in my surgery rotation now and a few members in my group are driving me nuts. They kiss so much butt it's disgusting! I am a good student but I don't stoop low to get in good with people. I do my work and that's it. These people show up extra early at the butt-crack of dawn and try to scrub in on my cases and round on my patients when they are in a completely different service than me. These people don't even want to go into surgery! It's utterly outrageous. I am not a confrontational person at all but I don't know what to do without looking lazy or like a complainer. I would appreciate any advice on how to handle this but getting up at 4 am to beat those tools to the hospital is defintely not an option! Thanks for y'alls time!

neilc

1K Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 1, 2001
sunny CA
Status (Visible)
ahhh, the dreaded gunners! my advice, beat them with a stick. tell them to keep their dirty mitts off of your patients and to stay out of your OR time.

if that doesnt work, spread rumors about them.

Samoa

15+ Year Member
Feb 14, 2002
I just do NOT understand the rationale for rounding on anyone's patients but your own. I mean, getting there at the crack of dawn to do your own work is one thing. Maybe they think they're helping you?

Even if they're not, that's probably how I'd approach it. Just say to the person, "Look, I know you think you're helping me by getting here early and rounding on my patients, but really all it does is make me look bad, so if that's not your intent, I'd appreciate it if you'd stop."