Lab Animal Residency and Backup Plan Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maybutterfly1895

NCSU c/o 2022!
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all!

So, I'm a third year veterinary student at NCSU and I'm looking for some advice about residencies and backup plans. I am lab animal focused and am planning on applying for lab animal residencies after vet school. My top choice is definitely Wake Forest, since I spent a summer there doing research and enjoyed the environment. With that said, I know that lab animal residencies are super competitive (especially for me since I want to stay in the southeast), so I'm currently trying to think of some backup plans. Does anyone know of any opportunities in research or public health that could be available for new grads? I personally don't like GP, but will do it as a last resort. Also, would it be wise to go ahead and apply for GP internships when applying for the match, in case things go south?

Also, how important is it to be a student/class officer? So, I done goofed; I was so focused on grades, research internships, and working on my networking skills, that I completely overlooked the importance of holding a leadership position :smack: . That said, I'm involved in student clubs and have showed leadership skills in other ways (gave presentations at the pre-vet club at my undergrad talking about vet school life and gave advice on how to be competitive). Will the lack of holding a student officer position hurt my virmp application in the future?

Also, what does the job market look like for lab animal vets? I know Covid-19 has probably affected the job market, but I want to get an idea of how it was in recent years. Was it a struggle to find a job or were there plenty of offers?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey y'all!