Laboratory Animal Case Management

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Momokeen

c/o 2021
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow vets,
I'm looking for a solution to our record management woes at my facility. I'm a lab animal med resident and our current record system I do not love. Basically we use a google form that populates a spreadsheet but maybe its just the question formatting, but things are just not very easy to track. Rechecks fill separate lines and its just a mess. I'm looking for other options that might be easy to also fill out on a phone. We do not have a lot of animals at this time and our program is pretty small so free or fairly low cost is best. Bonus if the program can make cage cards as well. I've looked for open source options but most seem to focus on just the vivarium management side and not necessarily individual animal/colony health. All thoughts welcome! Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry I can’t recommend anything, my situation sounds almost the opposite of yours - large group, lots of animals, etc. Our records program was pretty much custom made and is pretty complex. Good luck though, that sounds tough!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm also not a lot of help because I haaaate our records management system. It's basically what the vet school uses (because the University had a contract) so not the most user friendly or applicable for how things run in this field.

In my residency we had paper records at my first place - it was a pain but it worked. Hard to find things but there was a color coding system so it honestly was better than the current electronic system I'm working with. Like annual physicals were on green sheets, health issues were on yellow, etc.