Lack of Clinical Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deucedano

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright here's my situation. I did not really decide that I wanted to go to medical school until my junior year in college (currently a senior graduating in May). I spoke to my advisor about it and she said to get research experience, so last summer I worked as a research assistant in a medical research lab at duPont Children's Hospital. My advisor told me last fall my research didnt count towards clinical experience. However, I havent been able to get any clinical experience this year, so I have NO "clinical experience" as of right now. I am taking the year off after I graduate from college to get my clinical experience and because I havent taken the mcats yet. I got another clinical research position at duPont this summer and I am planning on volunteering there a day a week for my year off. Also, I applied for a 2 week primary care program at Penn State Hershey Medical at the end of May where I shadow a pediatrician. I am also going on a medical service trip for 3 weeks to Tanzania at the end of August. So my question is will my lack of clinical experience when I apply hurt me even though I will be getting it before I go to medical school?

Members don't see this ad.