Laparoscopic Artificial Insemination

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Melissa.a

Reaction score
Hey all,

I haven’t been able to get a straight answer from many vets I have spoken to in my area, but I was wondering, to do laparoscopic artificial insemination on small ruminants such as sheep and goats, do you have to be a DVM? Is it possible to be an RVT and work under a DVM to be able to do LAI? I am currently studying reproductive physiology, and can’t see myself doing everything that entails going to vet school, so I wanted to see if there was a way to be able to do strictly reproductive services both surgical and nonsurgical, without having to go to vet school. I am curious what the options are.

Members don't see this ad.

Horse repro barns can have repro managers who don't need to be DVMs. You can do lots of repro work that way (collections, preg checks, ART, etc.) but definitely nothing surgical.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Even with horses you still need to be a DVM in order to legally perform ultrasounds... sure a lay person can perform the AI, but without ultrasounds to get optimum timing it’s a huge pain to just keep collecting the stud and AI-ing the mare u til she goes out of heat...

Even with horses you still need to be a DVM in order to legally perform ultrasounds... sure a lay person can perform the AI, but without ultrasounds to get optimum timing it’s a huge pain to just keep collecting the stud and AI-ing the mare u til she goes out of heat...
I don't think that's a legal requirement? At least in AZ, the manager I knew did ultrasounds without a DVM present. It was run through my University so I'm pretty sure they were doing things the right way.

Reactions: 1 users