Late bloomers,chances to become a dentist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rexi

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a dentist, graduated in 2006 in my home country and currently living in USA.I have 4 years of break from the practicing due to personal reasons.I worked for few months as a DA, I should tell it was a horrible experience, I could not learn or shadow, instead went on sterilizing and cleaning equipment.So went on shadowing for 1 yr.
Here are few questions if someone could help me out,
1.Can I apply to dental college after Nbde part 1 &2, Tofel at the age of 36?
2.Is there any age limit to applying to schools?
3.What will the college look for in my application?
4.How can I improve my application other than recommendation letters?
5.If Dental school is not for me,what all options do I have apart from hygienst and DA?

Seniors , Kindly help.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
You are funny. 36 does not make a senior or a late bloomer
There’s no age limit for admission
Schools look for an education, commitment and determination , which translates to GPA, CE, work experience etc
You can apply with just part one and TOEFL, chances a lot depend on which country you came from
Excellent local LORs play a big role as well

Yes , is doable...I’m 34, graduated in 2005... worked as DA .. now I’m a Prosth program...
Advice: pass NBDE 1 and 2, toelf over 90 at least

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad :)
The same situation here. I’m 35, graduated in 2006, had worked for 3 yrs after grad, and 2 more yrs from 2014-2016 in home country. Also a part-time DA for a while, and have already taken part 1 but failed, now have been pregnant for 31w, but still preparing for the next time exam(after childbirth).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You are funny. 36 does not make a senior or a late bloomer
There’s no age limit for admission