• Advice You're Thankful for Contest

Now that it's getting close to Thanksgiving, we're running a contest to hear advice you've received that you're most thankful for! This can be any type of advice and the advice with the most reactions will win!

JOIN CONTEST

Lawsuit again?

meow1985

Wounded Healer
2+ Year Member
Sep 12, 2017
    Update: first attending job still a go in just over a month. Finishing up residency by doing a stint on inpatient. I was named in a lawsuit based on something that happened when I was an intern, and the case was dropped with prejudice.

Today, I was discharging someone. They were not benefiting from care, engaging in care seeking/care rejecting, splitting staff, all the classic stuff. I could take the personal attacks, the emotional manipulation, the if-I-end-my-life-out-there-it-will-be-your-fault. I knew discharge was the right thing to do, and to keep them was the wrong thing to do.

I could not take it when I walked into their room and they were on the phone and I heard them say "lawyer." I didn't hear the context, and based on my knowledge of their life it's conceivable that it was related to something else.

But I can't do this twice before I'm even out of residency. I made it through the day somehow but I've been having low-grade panic symptoms all day. I know I am a good psychiatrist. But who else will look at this history and think so?

Sushirolls

Topped with salmon, avocado and tobiko
    10+ Year Member
    Feb 24, 2010
    Not Big Box Shop
    1. Attending Physician
      Patient didn't threaten to kill you, so it's a good day. Shrug it off. I stopped counting the number of patients saying they'll sue or kill me. Got a few restraining orders out there, too. Let your attending know, and if they want you to talk to the hospital risk management or not. If so, talk with them, and then move on. If not, move on. It really is that simple. This won't be the last time either.