Technology LCD TV or CRT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Whisker Barrel Cortex

1K Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So my trusty cheap 19 inch TV short circuited a few days ago. I had been thinking of getting a new one, just not this soon.

So my dilemma is this: I am still a resident (and will be in training for another 3.5 years including fellowship) so my income isn't that great. At first, I figured I'd buy a new 30 inch or so CRT monitor (relatively small living room). These cost about $400-600. I figured this would keep me until I graduated and made attending money. But then I went to BestBuy / CircuitCity and saw how great the LCDs and Plasmas look. They would look great hanging on my wall and take up so much less space (the CRTs weigh 150lbs!). The downside, obviously, is the cost. I would be looking at a $1400 LCD at 27-30 inches. Cheaper plasmas would be more in the $1800-2200 for about 40 inches (which I don't really need).

I would mostly be using my TV for DVDs, occasional sports, and occasional regular TV. I may get an HDTV tuner in the future, but not right away.

So my questions to the technology buffs are as follows:
1. If I get a lower end LCD (brands such as Syntax Olevia, SVA, Hyundai), how likely is it that I will be very dissapointed in the picture quality? Anyone that has one of these sets please let me know how you like it.
2. How long will an LCD last? I figure I can use this set as bedroom set once I make attending money and get a better home theater system.
3. Is it really worth the price difference, considering I would be buying on credit and paying off over the next several months (i.e. I don't have savings set aside for this type of purchase).

Its just so tempting to get the flat panels, although my practical side says get the CRT.

Members don't see this ad.

Whisker Barrel Cortex said:
So my questions to the technology buffs are as follows: