Letter of Intent Pre-interview/Preliminary Screen

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocCallaway

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it a bad idea to send a letter of intent before any decision has been made on whether to interview, hold you, or reject you? I am a resident of Michigan but only have average stats 3.7, 31 MCAT, and I would like to attend Michigan, but am unsure if I'll make thier first screen. My "diversity" I wrote about is the fact that I am a twin.

Members don't see this ad.

I've got the same question...good idea/bad idea? What if it's in the form of an update?

My opinion is that it may or may not help (depending on the school and the rest of your app), but I doubt it'll hurt you in any way. If I were you, and it were your first choice school and you're worried about making the cut, I'd send it. At least, I wouldn't want to regret not sending it after I got cut and wonder if it would have made any difference then.

Members don't see this ad :)
Personally I wouldn't send a letter of intent pre-interview. The wording of a LOI makes it clear you will drop all your other schools if you're admitted.

99.9999999% of the time this is done post interview because if you haven't even been offered an interview how do you know enough to know it's your absolute first choice? It's also a bit presumptuous to talk about being accepted when you haven't even been offered an interview.

A letter of interest or update letter is absolutely something you can and should send if they are one of your top choices, unless the school specifically requests that you not send them (Stanford).

if you haven't even been offered an interview how do you know enough to know it's your absolute first choice?

what if you're a reapplicant who did interview at the school before, told them then that they were your first choice, and are now trying to get a second chance?