Letter of Rec. for USUHS question.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kajedbear

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a nontraditional student and I really want to go to USUHS. They have a requirement of 2 letters from science faculty, one from a clinical supervisor, and one from a non-science faculty.

I currently have the two science faculty letters and I have two letters from doctors lined up, but my issue is with the non-science letter. Being nontrad, I have taken all science classes recently with the exception of a lower division communications course with around 200 people in it. The professor for that course is a nice guy and would probably write me a letter but I doubt it would be a very strong one, given the amount of students in the class limits the interactions. My other option is to write a letter explaining why I could not obtain a non-science letter (per the schools guidelines).

So my question is, which is better, having a mediocre recommendation letter, or just explaining my situation, which is that I haven't had non-science courses in about ten years and what ones I have had are so large I could not obtain one?

Any advice is welcome, especially from those who have experience with USUHS or ahve gotten in there.

Members don't see this ad.

I faced the same situation last summer. Although I'm not a nontrad, I took all of my lib eds in the first two years (almost exclusively science for the last two).

So... I had a little trouble getting a non science letter. I just decided to go the mediocre route and email a previous professor for a culture course that I took. She wrote me a letter, and I got accepted. I didn't want to deal with explaining my lack of ability to gain recommendations lol.. and I assumed if she wrote me a mediocre letter then it's fine because my other letters were better.