Letter of Recommendation/Evaluation - 2 Science Letters, TX Applicant Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

foibleBird1!56

Reaction score
Hello, I'm trying to decide if I need 2 science letters or not. I was originally set to apply this current '23-'24 cycle, so I already have 3 individual letters in Interfolio. I am a TX resident and my goal is to attend a TX med school, so I'm not sure what OOS schools I'll be applying to - or if I will. From what I've looked up, TX schools typically require the TMDSAS requirement of 3 LORs (no specification on who), with BCM allowing 1 more and TCU allowing 2 more. (Incarnate has the most specific - DO/physician, committee, science - 1 can be subbed, but I am iffy on including Incarnate on my list anyway.)

Current letters:
  1. Paid summer research advisor/Service Organization - Leadership position faculty advisor: Did not take a class with them, but have a long-term relationship with them and they have seen me in multiple settings and can vouch for my academic, research, service, and leadership skills (and who I am). They are not BCPM, but the research was heavily reliant on data science.
  2. Neuroscience professor (BCPM) and Genetics Lab professor: I got A's in his Neuro class and Genetics Lab course. I am interested in neurology and psychiatry and feel this is a strong stem letter. His wife is a physician and I have interviewed her before for a different course as an assignment.