Like IR but not DR

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ggg455

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a 3rd year med student and really like IR so far. Problem is, I'm not into DR very much at all. I know I would love being an interventional radiologist but I do worry about really struggling through all the DR training. There's also the feasibility of finding a way to focus on just IR, or at least mostly IR, once I'm done. Anyway, has anyone here in IR felt this way? Would it be stupid to go through rads residency if I don't like DR that much? I don't want to be a miserable or crappy resident.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you're alone with this feeling. If IR is what your passionate about and want to pursue, then 3 years of DR (with the new dual certificate or mini-fellowship PGY-5 then regular IR fellowship) it's really not too long. You can also get involved in other things like IR research or the SIR during residency to stay involved. Both the med student council (for you right now) and the residents and fellows section of the SIR are actively involved in projects so you should think about applying to those if you're interested. To maintain your skills, you could take some extra call in your IR department or work with your PD to schedule IR electives. Without a solid DR foundation, you can't be an amazing IR anyways because you really need to understand the imaging in order to provide the patient with the best clinical and procedural management.