Living Abroad During Gap Year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

reese2023

Reaction score
Hello! I am a 4th year undergrad studying biomedical engineering at a well-ranked public university. I have been planning on applying to med school in the next cycle (entering med school Fall 2024), but I've been hearing recently that it's not a good idea to live abroad during the application year.

For context, I am hoping to receive a Fulbright grant to study in Belgium next year, so getting time off to return to the US for interviews hopefully won't be too bad as many classes at the Belgian uni have resources available online anyway. My stats are 4.0 GPA and 523 MCAT (132/128/131/132), and my top programs are Harvard/HST, NYU, Duke, and Baylor (I'm a TX resident). I'm Cuban, so URM status is iffy. Is there any advice for how I could balance possible interviews with being out of the country? I'd really prefer not having to take another year before med school. One solution I've heard so far is to pre-schedule a couple chunks of time in the US that I could request med school interviews to be scheduled in. Many thanks in advance!

Edit: I'm new to SDN and don't yet know how to navigate it -- many apologies if this is posted in the wrong place!

Members don't see this ad.

If interviews are held via Zoom and your internet connection is solid, then it's entirely possible.

Reactions: 1 users
i’m planning on receiving a germany fulbright next year and if less than 10 schools on my list do in person interviews i’ll apply from abroad and fly in for the few in person interviews. You can leave the country for up to 14 days on a Fulbright. The only challenge might be that you’ll have to be up at odd hours for the virtual interviews possibly. If a significant # of schools are doing in person interviews then your hand is forced, and you’re obligated to take a second gap year or turn down fulbright.