timtye78

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2003
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I am a fourth year student who is almost done with med school (yay), and I am sure that we have an exit financial aid lecture scheduled, but I would like to hear from current residents/licensed docs who have been through these next few years (residency) and see if you have any pointers, tips,etc as far as money management goes.

I know my school seems to impress upon students to pay back their loans ASAP, but I hardly ever seem to meet anyone who is actually making the loan repayments while still in residency. What are the pros and cons from your prospective?

Also, what about loan consolidation? I am starting to get more phone calls from these companies touting 2.62% fixed rates, which sounds outstanding, but also hear rumors that these people will not take the whole loan, usually. Thoughts, experiences, etc?

Thank you in advance,
Tim Tye
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, D.O. Class of 2004

Jim Picotte

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 7, 2001
Traverse City, Michigan
Status (Visible)
Well I'm nearing the 2nd year of residency and have at least 3 and more likely 4 more years of residency/fellowship left. So far I've been able to get hardship deferment for my loans. I owe about $180,000 with med school/undergrad, etc and of that nearly $65,000 is subsidized direct loans and I have about another $20,000 in perkins.

You probably know but if you have enough in loans, you'll want to apply for hardship deferment. You have a maximum of 3 years of this but when you're in deferment, your interest rate on all your subsidized/unsubsidized loans is 0.6% less than when you're in forbearance or repayment. You want to take advantage of this. I'm not paying any interest on the subsidized and perkins loans because I have hardship deferment. My interest rate on my unsubsidized is also lower because of deferment.