Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Loans

Discussion in 'Financial Aid' started by bambi, Dec 5, 2008.

1. bambi

bambi Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I'm a UK student with a pretty big loan over here but may want to work in the US in the future. If I got a job over there, as a foreign doctor would it be possible to take out a US loan to pay back my UK one? I have no idea how your loans work or where to even start looking but this would definitely work out a lot cheaper for me so was wondering if it would be an option?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. TMP-SMX

TMP-SMX Senior Member
    Moderator Emeritus Gold Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Why? You can still pay them. They just convert the currency as you pay them back normally. I don't see how you believe it would be cheaper to take out a new loan. Though I honestly have no idea what your current loan terms are or why a bank would lend you new money since you don't have any reason for them to give it to you.

This may help.

4. bambi

bambi Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    It's not a student loan, it's a bank loan.

Not sure why I thought it would be cheaper when I started the thread but I must have had a reason that I can't think of now, I think I meant the monthly payments would be less, who knows. Anyway it would be easier to pay back a US one because from the looks of things they give you more time to pay it back. Oh and it's not that uncommon to take out a loan to pay back another one if you can get a better one.

5. Scottish Chap

Physician PhD Moderator Emeritus 15+ Year Member