Long DAT breakdown and Retaking

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gia1234

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there folks,

First, I just want to say thank you to SDN community for thegreat advice and encouragement. Ihonestly couldn’t have done it without you all. And I know what you’re thinking, “this chickhas only ONE post! Should I be suspicious??” Probably, but let me assure you,you shouldn’t—I’m only writing because I know how valuable a detailed post wasto me when I was studying. Alright,enough with the ramble, let’s get this show on the road.:D

I’m a non-traditional student. I started college a year early, and graduatedearly, so after college I wanted to take some time off, and that I did. I wanted to be mentally prepared before Idove into my professional career. I knewthat research, medicine, and dentistry were the careers that interested me themost, and if it weren’t for my time off, I wouldn’t have realized thatdentistry was the right choice for me. No need to go into detail as to how I came to that conclusion, but Idid. One day, I woke and said “I’mtaking the DAT.” I knew nothing aboutthe application cycle, the DAT, NOTHING. Too bad for me it was August. Iknew I was late in the game, but I really didn’t care. I thought to myself if worse comes to worst,I would just take it again (I’m in no rush), and will just get in the nextcycle.