Looking for a little advice for an abysmal undergraduate career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emily14

Reaction score
I graduated from college in 2002 with a 2.0 GPA. I started in a full-time AAMC post-bacc program and have completed 5 quarters of classes. 4.0 GPA, but it barely makes a dent in my overall GPA (estimated 2.43 cGPA, 3.69 sGPA using AMCAS grade conversion guide). I'm about to finish organic chemistry and start into biochemistry.

Should I look at getting a second bachelor degree to continue to improve my GPA or take my chances and apply next cycle after preparing for the MCAT?

Members don't see this ad.

You need to get your cgpa to a 3.0 or as close as humanly possible. As that denominator grows you’ll find it’s harder and harder to get there. Took me 3 years of classes at a 4.0 (~90 something credits) to get there (started with a 2.4 cgpa and 2.0 sgpa with a ton of credits). It looks like your first undergrad was very science-light so consider yourself lucky. Depending on your mcat score and other aspects of your application like clinical experience and research, volunteering etc you may or may not need to consider an SMP but I will say that your sgpa is helping a lot so maybe you won’t. Great job, this is a long journey to take on and you’re crushing it. I know how hard and grueling it can be. Keep doing what you’re doing and crush the mcat, after you receive your score you’ll know a lot more about which way to go.

Reactions: 1 users
I don't agree with the above. At some point, taking more undergrad isn't worth your time anymore and isn't really feasible to achieve a 3.0. That being said you have an excellent sGPA. I would aim for around ~60 credits total in your postbacc (if not done already), at which point maybe think about an SMP or straight up applying (since you have such a good sGPA), once you have a solid MCAT score under your belt.