TXtaco25

5+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 2, 2010
Status
Medical Student
Hey guys, I am trying to figure out what I should do to improve my chances of getting into medical school.

some background:

I am a Hispanic Texas resident who would definitely like to go to a Texas medical school, but am not opposed to going out of state.

I have been accepted into the Tufts and Boston University smp's, as well as the UPENN specialized studies program. I am also applying for the biomedical science certificate at UT-Dallas.

some numbers: 3.35 GPA, 2.99 sGPA, MCAT: 26P

First off, I know my numbers are rather low, but keep in mind that I am trying ultimately to get into a TX med school.

My question is would it be wise for me to do one of the two SMP's in Boston, since I will be able to compete with medical students, or would I be just as well off doing the MUCH CHEAPER UT-Dallas program?

The UT-Dallas program is not an smp, but offers tough upper level science courses.

I am just wavering because the SMP programs are soooo expensive:(, as well as far from home. Can anybody give me some advice?

also, should I retake the MCAT for the third time?

Thanks

DrMidlife

has an opinion
10+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I really like the UT Dallas program. Do the math on whether more undergrad can improve your GPA substantially enough to do UTD instead of an SMP. If you do 2 years there, all science, would this get you up over 3.4 for both GPAs?

Definitely I think you should retake the MCAT, and aim for an above-average score - that means 32+.

Look for vc7777 and see if you can get his/her advice.

Also look at the URM postbacs like Wake Forest. There's a list in the "GPA enhancement" sticky in this forum.

Best of luck to you.

OP
TXtaco25

TXtaco25

5+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 2, 2010
Status
Medical Student