jtom

5+ Year Member
Jun 27, 2009
Status
Pre-Veterinary
I graduated with a bachelors in biology 12/2008. I always wanted to be a vet but disregarded it because I heard it was so difficult to get into that I should not even try. I looked into it last year but decided to look for other types of programs. This last week I began to seriously look into vet school and here I am!

My overall gpa is 3.69, 3.47 major gpa. I took the GRE's a year ago and got 1110 (540 v, 570 q, 4.0 writing). I did 80 hours of undergraduate research that involved the relationship between pesticides and the increase to parasitism vulnerability of various native amphibian species. I am not sure if that will count towards any hours.

I dont have any other experience but I do not plan on applying this year. I am blessed that I am in a financial situation where I can focus only on taking a few pre-reqs that I have not yet taken and gaining experience. So while I dont have any vet/animal experience I have a little over a year before the application system opens up. I feel what I can do is volunteer/work at a few different types of places at the same time and gain the needed experience. One of my family's close family friends happens to be the director of the biology department at the local university so I thought I could ask him about finding volunteer work and especially any unique opportunities to make my application more appealing (maybe something at the local zoo?).

I guess my main issues are whether you feel i have a chance in getting into vet school. I really would rather not retake the GRE's, I took it twice and the second time I hired a tutor, used several books etc and did all I could. I feel my scores are definetly low end but still under the range for consideration. I was hoping if I can bring up my hours to average levels that I can make up for the below average GRE scores. Are there any schools known to place less emphasis on GRE's?