Last edited:

Goro

Gold Donor
7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student
My mentor happens to be a world renowned researcher(MD/PHD), even though I didn't meet him in an academic/professional setting, he is willing to write a letter for me. Can this letter carry any weight in the admission process? What would it even be considered if I did use it? Help.

Sidenote: He is the senior advisor/prof for the COM at the state school I graduated from
No. He may be "world renowned" to you, but not to other people.

Testimonials aren't as good as LORs from people who can attest to your intellect and work ethic, like, radically enough, your professors.

gonnif

Only 342 Days Until Next Presidential Election
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2009
The Big Bad Apple
Status
Non-Student
You call him your mentor but didnt meet in academic or professional setting; what is the nature of your relationship?

Last edited:
About the Ads
OP
ClamChowderrr

ClamChowderrr

Black. No cream. No sugar.
2+ Year Member
Dec 17, 2014
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
No. He may be "world renowned" to you, but not to other people.

Testimonials aren't as good as LORs from people who can attest to your intellect and work ethic, like, radically enough, your professors.
Hmm, thanks for the input. Granted I don't agree with assumption that professors could attest to anything more than a grade and what class you took with them.

You call him your rmentor but didnt meet in academic or professional setting; what is the nature of your relationship?
An academic advisor, just has not been my professor.

Goro

Gold Donor
7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student
Hmm, thanks for the input. Granted I don't agree with assumption that professors could attest to anything more than a grade and what class you took with them.
If all you did was sit in class, then that's the type of LOR you can expect, and deserve.

OP
ClamChowderrr

ClamChowderrr