LOR from non-ophth D.O...worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doomlaut

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First of all, just wanted to say thanks for all the work that goes into this being such a great forum. I haven't posted yet but have learned so much from the discussions and information that goes on here. I have been wrestling with this decision for some time with no progress, so am finally relenting and posting here for any insight anyone might have.

Some basic background on me to provide context for my question - I am a third year medical student at a US allopathic school who is going for ophth. I got a 244 on Step 1, have lots of international work/volunteer/career experience prior to starting med school as I took several years off. Only got passes, no honors in preclinical years. Honors/excellents so far in third year rotations. I have one non-ophth poster , but no ophth research so far (working on getting that going, no luck so far).

Our school gives out surgery electives via lottery - I requested ophth but did not get it. I have been trying desperately to get face time with our ophth department but have been unsuccessful at every turn. Will keep trying to get contact but it is very difficult trying to do so while doing the rest of the core third year rotations. Am planning on doing an ocular pathology elective right away in July of fourth year to hopefully get a LOR/pub out of that, but of course nothing is guaranteed until it happens.