Lor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smitty

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year student most likely applying for path this fall. I've already completed my path elective and at some point am going to have to ask for LORs. The only problem is I'm not really sure if I know any of our path faculty well enough to ask for them at this point. I'm signed up for another path elective in a couple of months, but I had thought of switching that month to later in the year, after the match. Now I'm thinking maybe I should go ahead and do another month before I apply just to ensure I have enough contact with faculty to feel comfortable asking for LORs. All this is also complicated by the fact that I'm trying to decide whether or not to do an outside path rotation. Any of you guys out there who have already matched have similar problems/issues?

Members don't see this ad.

Well, I'd be starting my 4th year too and I haven't done a path rotation here yet. At U of Michigan, doing a pathology rotation during 3rd year is virtually impossible. And I won't be doing a path rotation until September so I'm not in the best case scenario either. I know of at least 3 or 4 others who are in similar situations. I realize that pathology isn't the most popular field (yet) and so many med schools don't have path rotations as core rotations during 3rd year. Because of that, I think there are a significant number of people in similar situations as us.