Losing Confidence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RoyBasch

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks, today I was rejected from my first choice school (home state medical school). This was my first post-interview rejection (I had received a few pre-interview rejections from way long shot schools) and for the first time since I started my applications last June I really feel like I'm starting to lose confidence that I will actually get in anywhere this year.

My home state school is very protective of its own--it accepts more than 30% of state residents who apply--and my statistics were well above its averages (my stats: 35 MCAT/ 3.7 GPA). Furthermore I think I have had some pretty interesting experiences and jobs in research, clinical work, and non-clinical not-for-profit volunteer work that I thought I wrote about very eloquently on the secondary (by far the secondary I had spent the most time on). My application was complete by the end of August.

I just am totally at a loss, and I am really starting to wonder what I'm going to do if I couldn't even get into a school that I had a 30+% shot at. If any of you have any advice of where I should go from here I'd really appreciate it.
-Roy

Members don't see this ad.

Hey roy,

Will your home state school give you feedback about why they didn't take you? You may want to see if they'll let you know their thoughts so you can either avoid those pitfalls with your other applications this year or address the pitfalls for when you re-apply.

:luck::luck::luck: with your other applications out this cycle--

Agree. Call the admissions office and try to set up an appointment or get feedback over the phone. A lot of schools will tell you stuff like well your grades were good and your MCAT, but you were lacking clinical experience or your essay could have been better. Keep your head up.

Members don't see this ad :)