aurevoirLA

10+ Year Member
Feb 23, 2005
Status
I'm wondering whether or not I will qualify for low interest loans, and also whether or not it's a good idea to take one out. I'm starting medical school next year, and sitting on a pretty good sized savings-- enough to cover the whole cost of med school.

Will I qualify for a low interest loan? I hear they have a 3 percent interest rate. Is that true? And if so, I'm better off taking out the loan and investing my savings, right?

Any input or ideas will be much much appreciated!! I'm totally new at handling finances.

bonez318ti

Future Rally Medic
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 7, 2004
Visit site
Status
Resident [Any Field]
aurevoirLA said:
I'm wondering whether or not I will qualify for low interest loans, and also whether or not it's a good idea to take one out. I'm starting medical school next year, and sitting on a pretty good sized savings-- enough to cover the whole cost of med school.

Will I qualify for a low interest loan? I hear they have a 3 percent interest rate. Is that true? And if so, I'm better off taking out the loan and investing my savings, right?

Any input or ideas will be much much appreciated!! I'm totally new at handling finances.
I'd say you are doing a pretty darn good job with your finances having saved up enough to cover the entire cost of medical school!!

In anycase, if you can comfortably cover the costs of med school, I'd use that money to pay for school rather than take out additional loans, unless you can find a higher rate of return vs. the loan interest rate for your money with very little or no risk.

ie: If you have a choice between a 3% loan and paying out of your savings that is earning 1%... and you pay with your savings, you are in effect earning a 2% (3%-1%) return on your money, since you aren't paying interest on the loan.