Low Tier School List Help

farnell

May 15, 2012
  1. Pre-Medical
    Hi everyone,

Was hoping I could get some feedback on the school list I've put together. My GPA is 3.49 (somewhat upward trend, deans list last two semesters but 3.5 in final semester), and I have yet to take the MCAT, but based on my practice scores, lets assume that I get a 30ish. I have solid research and volunteering experience. I understand that I am a pretty below average applicant, and keeping that in mind, does my list of schools seem appropriate? Again, I am not looking for reach schools here, I am interested in schools I might actually have a chance at and are also OOS friendly ( I am a PA resident,and I'm white).

Loyola U of Chicgo
    Univ of Illinois at Chicago
    Univ of Iowa
    Tulane
    Univ of Maryland
    Boston U
    Mich State
    Wayne St
    St Louis U
    University of Missouri - KC
    Creighton
    Albany
    Albert Einstein
    NY Medical college
    Wake Forest
    Toledo
    Commonwealth U
    Drexel
    Thomas Jefferson
    Penn State
    Temple
    Pitt
    East Tennessee State
    Univ of Utah
    U of Vermont
    Eastern Virginia
    Virginia commonwealth WVU

As you may notice, I prefer schools in the eastern US, if at all possible. Do any of these seem like reaches? Alternatively, have a left any lower tier schools off of this list that I might want to consider? I am considering DO schools, but would just like help with MD schools at the moment.

Thanks in advance for everyone's help, long time lurker but first time poster!

Ismet

Moderator Emeritus
    7+ Year Member
    May 15, 2011
    1. Attending Physician
      I don't have access to the MSAR anymore, but I think Pitt would be your only reach school based on GPA/MCAT. Some of the other schools might be very unfriendly towards OOS (WVU is one, Utah might be one). Also for Commonwealth, it helps immensely if you have ties to the Northeast PA region.

About the Ads

Mazdave

Feb 1, 2011