• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

himikie

Jun 25, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
  2. Non-Student
I graduated with a low gpa of 2.95 (BS in engineering) at a 4 year private university last year. I did poorly in all of my science classes with mostly Cs and a few Bs (no excuses for my bad grade. I don’t think I was ready for the rigor of a college level course in my first 2 years of college and I also got a D on one of my engineering courses.) Right after graduation, I retook all of the prerequisite science classes (21 credits) at a CC within a year and got all As in them, and I plan to take the MCAT next month. In my practice exams, my average scores are around 515. For other experiences, I have experience working at a biomedical engineering professor’s lab during my undergrad, and have worked as an ED tech for 6 months. Currently, I have an engineering consulting job.
I want to get your opinions on whether I have a chance for acceptance for the next application cycle for MD or DO. I was planning to apply to an SMP when my MCAT scores are released (hoping/assuming that I do about the same as my practice exams), but want to know if my DIY grade enhancers at CC would be sufficient. I don’t know if it is even worth it to try applying for the next application cycle. I know that doing an SMP will increases my chances by a lot but my only concern is the cost.
Any advice would be appreciated! Also any recommendations for other extra curriculars/clinical experiences as I wait to apply for SMP (or medical school)?

akg0119

Apr 29, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical