PhD/PsyD MA/MS ---> PhD Counseling Path for 2nd Career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Brown2002

Reaction score
Hello,
I am seeking input re: a MA/MS --> Counseling Psychology PhD path that I am exploring.

I'm looking to enter counseling psychology as a second career. I had a long first career in business, became a ICF-certified executive coach two years ago and my training and client experience in private practice has led me to the decision that I'd like to pursue a career in counseling psychology. I did not study psychology in college (I graduated 20 years ago), and so I am interested in pursuing a MA/MS in counseling psychology first, and then possibly a PhD afterward. I live in NYC and am looking at NYU and Columbia TC's MA Counseling programs. That said, because I plan to also work through my masters, I am considering online programs that will allow me to be remote and study part-time (such as Northwestern).

My main questions are 2-fold:
1) Is my strategy to receive an MA/MS prior to a PhD sound? Or, would it be more time and cost-effective to do Post-Bac work and then apply directly to a PhD program?
2) I've seen some vitriol here re: online programs. Would a program from a CACREP-certified online program (like Northwestern) preclude my candidacy for a PhD?

Members don't see this ad.

1. Sound, yes. Cost-effective, probably not. There are a number of counseling psychology programs that assume a master's degree upon entry, but they are becoming fewer and fewer as the years go on. I went this route and had a number of offers when I applied years ago, but at this point, It might be better to just do the postbacc work and apply all over. If you just want to stay at TC, you can talk to faculty about how many of their own M.A. students they accept in their Ph.D. program.