Major Change in Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gvs42

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am a new member to this and I am having a low key existential crisis and I really would like some help! I am sorry for advance but if you have an answer in even one of these questions it would mean a lot!

Let me Start off with my current stats (I am a second semester Freshman) at a liberal arts school
1st semester GPA- 3.72 (A- in Chem and Calc, B in chem lab, A in english : pre med reqs I was taking)
How does A- look in pre med reqs, and would a B in Chem lab ( really stressed about this grade) hurt my chances of admission?

I pledged a pretty hard hazing sorority ( like an imbecile) and ended up depledging: I did get most of my grades up to A/A- at the expense from withdrawing from a history liberal arts requirement.
How bad would a W in a non required class impact my chances of med school?

I really was an idiot senior year of hs and even though I had a 33 and a on the ACT and a 93 average in HS I did not believe that I would get into any colleges and only applied to schools below my range as a psych major. I really do like psych but from what I hear being a psych major doesn't really give you that edge for med school applicants. I was kind of lied to by my school admissions about a potential neuroscience program (my true interest) but it doesn't turn out to actually exist. I love all sciences and would not mind switching to biology
Should I stick as a Psych Major/ Switch to Bio/ or transfer to a better school for neuroscience?

Thank you ahead of time! I am sorry for this really long post but I am so anxious and feel like I have already messed up my chances of med school because of my stupid insecurities.

Members don't see this ad.