• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

futuredo32

15+ Year Member
Apr 8, 2003
Michigan
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I did a traditional rotating osteopathic internship last year and I'm a resident at a different hospital this year. I got a call on my cell phone today from a lawyer about a patient who passed away last year. According to the lawyer, I'm not yet named in the suit but I did care for her at some point during her hospital stay and the lawyer said he was representing the hospital. I vaguely remember the name of this patient, but nothing specific at all, not even that she passed away or what she may have been admitted for.

I called the risk management person at the hospital where I did my internship last year and left a message and didn't speak to the lawyer. Is it odd that the lawyer contacted me before the hospital did? I read the thread about malpractice in residency and it seems that the norm is that residents are contacted by the hospital first. Am I still covered by the hospital's malpractice insurance? What exactly is this lawyer expecting me to say? I really really don't remember anything about this patient at all. Any advice is appreciated:)

Smurfette

Gargamel always had a thing for blondes.
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
Jun 7, 2001
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I did a traditional rotating osteopathic internship last year and I'm a resident at a different hospital this year. I got a call on my cell phone today from a lawyer about a patient who passed away last year. According to the lawyer, I'm not yet named in the suit but I did care for her at some point during her hospital stay and the lawyer said he was representing the hospital. I vaguely remember the name of this patient, but nothing specific at all, not even that she passed away or what she may have been admitted for.