1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Masters Degree

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by UTVol, Dec 3, 2008.

1. UTVol

Pre-Dental
    So I'm new and was looking for advice...

I am a first year grad student at The University of Tennessee-Knoxville. I received my B.S. in Chemistry last year and was turned down for acceptance into dental school, prior to graduation (3.4 GPA, 18 DAT). So I decided to get my M.S. in organic chemistry and go on from there.

I guess my question is, will a masters degree in organic boost my application enough to get into dental school? How much will my grad school GPA be weighted against my undergrad GPA?

THANKS!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. nodoubt

nodoubt ...on my journey
    7+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    I wonder the same thing. When I spoke to a few people in admissions expressing my interest from various schools, they always say "Well, we look more at your undergraduate career vs. your graduate" I think that's b.s. though because when it comes down to it I'm sure it accounts for something.

4. wu8313

5+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    I hope this will give hope to those that didn't get that certain phone call or letter this year. I'll make this as short as possible. I am currently working on my Master's in Food Science at the University of Florida. It is my 3rd time applying and finally got accepted this year at UF this past Monday. My story goes something like this: