Masters Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mcashell_3

Reaction score
I graduated undergrad with a not so stunning GPA with dreams of attending dental school. I knew my 3.4 GPA would be an issue so I decided to apply to a Masters Program. I chose an MPH because I had professors who told me it would be a good idea and I felt I could do really well in this field. I have finished the application cycle and I am now getting acceptance letters. I now realize this masters program does not make me a competitive candidate for dental school because of the lack in science courses. Should I back out of the process and apply for a science based masters in the spring or do I have a chance of getting in with an MPH?

Members don't see this ad.

Just curious, what makes you think a 3.4 is an issue? Are you trying for a specific school? What’s your sGPA?

My science GPA was only a 3.2. I thought a Masters in Public Health program would help and include some science based courses so I could bolster that but I am starting to understand that is not the case. I am scared to accept the MPH offers because I didn't pursue a science based major in undergrad but I completed all the neccessary pre-reqs for dental school. Will a MPH help at all or should I pursue a different Masters?

Members don't see this ad :)
I believe a Masters in Biomedical Sciences degree would be much more beneficial. That's the path I took, and several of my interviewers this cycle brought it up and were impressed with my 3.9 GPA.

I have seen multiple threads stating to stay away from a MPH so I feel like I really messed up. I am not sure if I should deny the acceptances I have already recieved and re-apply to science based masters or go ahead with the MPH program I just got accepted into and hope for the best.