Masters or Post-Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dental24

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys

What should I do. I got accepted at Mississippi College-MS in Biology-Medical Sciences, but I dont know if I should do that masters or if i should just enroll into a university in Texas like (UTD) and take upper levels as a non-degree seeking student.

I'm really confused becasue I'm a TX resident (Graduated from Texas A&M), and I dont want to be making the wrong decision in terms of MASTERS or POST-BACC.
IF ANYONE has any knowedlge or actually been through the same, please reply or message :)

I'm a PSYC major and My stats are: sGPA: 3.17, oGPA:3.35, nsciGPA-3.52
I took the DAT and got a 16 (I know this is bad so I'm retaking it this 1st week inAugust 2012)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I believe it depends on your GPA. If it's not too bad and you can raise it easily, do post-bac. If it's beyond repair and some extra classes won't nudge it, go masters.

I believe it depends on your GPA. If it's not too bad and you can raise it easily, do post-bac. If it's beyond repair and some extra classes won't nudge it, go masters.

Okay so my stats are: sGPA: 3.17, oGPA:3.35, nsciGPA-3.52
I took the DAT and got a 16 (I know this is bad so I'm retaking it this 1st week inAugust 2012)

What do you think??

Members don't see this ad :)
How many science classes have you taken? If you haven't taken many upper level bios yet I would do a post-bacc, if you have already taken most of them I would go for the masters. Your key will be doing better on the DAT however, you might get an acceptance as is if you can increase your DAT significantly.