Masters vs. more Undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chase K 13

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've done a fair amount of research on the merits of completing a Masters in Medical Science program versus more undergrad, but I have a unique situation that I think warrants additional input: I graduated in May of last year with a Chemistry major/minor in Biophysics. My GPA trend was positive starting from 3.5 my freshman year to a 4.0 my Junior year. The first semester of my senior year I elected to only take 10 credit hours because I could afford to do so and let myself become complacent and earned a 3.1. I learned my lesson and refocussed my last semester. I started off very strong taking 15 hours of all upper level sciences but started having medical issues (reoccurring spontaneous pneumothorax that required surgery after graduating), which significantly impacted my performance and I was lucky to earn a 3.06. Had I been healthy, I would have obtained a 3.6-3.7 continuing my level of performance the first half of the semester. Regardless, I graduated with a 3.5 sGPA and 3.68 cGPA and a negative trend my senior year. If I complete ~20 hours of undergrad between the fall/summer/winter terms, I could improve my sGPA to a ~ 3.6 and cGPA ~ 3.70. So given the circumstances, which path would committees view more favorably?

Members don't see this ad.

1. Is that a picture of you? Might want to think about that one.
2. Without MCAT it is difficult to really give advice.
3. Schools don't care about master's gpa for the most part unless it is bad.
4. Your gpa isn't terrible, with a strong MCAT and a well rounded application you could get an MD admission.
5. Good luck.

1. Is that a picture of you? Might want to think about that one.
2. Without MCAT it is difficult to really give advice.
3. Schools don't care about master's gpa for the most part unless it is bad.