Match Farce

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The_world_is_a_vampire

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I grew up always wanting to be a doctor. I studied meticulously, foregoing parties and social occasions for the promise of reaching my goal. Once accepted to medical school, I knew that I would have to work even harder to both become a competent physician and to get a desirable residency spot. As a first year medical student, residency and the Match seem to be a decade away and there are more pressing matters to address. In second year, Step 1 looms over you like a bully waiting for you in the school yard. Once Step 1 is over, you are immediately thrust into the hospital and clinical setting without any pomp and circumstance. It's a relief to know that you Step 1 went well, but you become nervous and worried that you might make a mistake, which you undoubtedly will.

But now a new issue starts to keep you up at night. You have less than a year until you have to know which specialty you would like to train in, take Step 2, and apply to residencies all across the country. You quickly start to learn about the match process, including the rules, deadlines, and requirements. You study them, memorize them, and ask peers, classmates, faculty, and upperclassmen for clarification. But you don't get clarification; what you get is an education into what the match is really like. Some of what they say is from experience, some is hearsay, some is an attempt to dissuade a potential competitor. Logically, you take all of this “advice” with a grain of salt, not knowing what to believe. Throughout that time, I can't tell you how often a rumor was spread and corroborated by several people that was completely false. However, it was one of these pieces of gossip that both offered a sense of hope, along with a sense of fear.