Match vs. non-match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nmourtzi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a MSIII seriously considering Pathology for a career. I have researched several programs and have a tentative list, but I am confused about match vs. nonmatch programs. Can you apply for both or if you choose the match, you are automatically out of competition for the other spots? I am a DO student and my school does not really advocate the allopathic match, so finding answers is always a challenge.

Also, for those experienced in this area, are nonmatch programs typically second tier when compared to match spots?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey I just saw this message so since no one else offered I can try. I think, when people get offered spots outside the match, that they generally go through the normal routine of applying to schools and going on interviews. If they fit the right characteristics, sometimes places will offer them a spot outside the match. If you have a major "in" with a program, such as doing research there for a long time or major clinical experience, sometimes you can short circuit the whole interview process and be given a position as a "reward" for your hard work, etc.

There are all kinds of programs that give out non-match positions. I know Mayo has done this, MGH. Neither one perhaps this year, but in the past they have. UMass gave one this year to someone switching in after their surgery intern year. I think in general the tougher programs to get into are a bit more stingy with their offers, reserving them only for people they already know well or have some kind of arrangement with. An "average" candidate applying from somewhere else is probably not going to get the same level of interest. You may still get a match position, of course.