Matching into Emed with low Step scores

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emeddaily

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was really hoping to gain an opinion from anyone that has already matched into Emed/received interviews or is a resident/attending:

A bit about myself. I am currently a 4th year medical student that attends a US accredited medical school. I am on a gap year currently doing research at a top tier center which I am guaranteed a publication.

I want to match into Emed but I am concerned about my USMLE. I did not pass Step 1 on my first attempt and on my second attempt I scored a 221. After this momentum, I worked my butt off third year and received outstanding clinical feedback.

When step 2 rolled around, I am not sure what happened. NBME 4- 214 (4weeks out), NBME 6-231(2 weeks out) UWSA-241 (3 days before) ACTUAL STEP 2 - 213. -1st attempt.

I was devastated with my step 2 results considering the test did not feel as bad and my practice exams. Thankful that I passed on first attempt but now I am concerned about matching into ER.

Friends and family have told me to not give up. I am strong minded as well. I have a great CV, phenomenal social communication skills (I interview very well), and I have a few contacts in some programs. I am also a minority/diverse if that matters.

My plan was to do many away rotations (4-5) to get Great LORs. I would also hope to have my program director vouge that my USMLE scores do not adequately represent the caliber of a candidate that I am.

Is there anyone that can offer insight and advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Here's a good place to start:

http://www.nrmp.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Charting-Outcomes-US-Allopathic-Seniors-2016.pdf

Friends and family have told me to not give up. I am strong minded as well.