Math course selection

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1038633

Good morning everyone,

I'll try to keep this post short and sweet. I'm a freshman in undergrad and thankfully my grades are all well and intact. I will soon be picking classes for my spring term of my freshman year and I was kind of stuck at my math courses to take. I am a biology major and I've done some fair amount of research. I've seen a trend that taking both Calculus and Statistics is something medical schools prefer. I will be taking statistics during summer and potentially Calculus during spring. I had the option to pick between Elementary Calculus and Calculus I. So here are my two questions.

Would it seem "worse" if I picked elementary calculus instead of Calculus I? I took Calc BC in high school but had a really terrible experience in that class so I'm kind of scared I'll get screwed over.

And for my second question, are medical schools fine with classes being taken in summer online? Aka my statistic class.

Thank you very much for your time for whoever reads this

Members don't see this ad.

Generally fine to take a class or two in the summer. They don't like online classes but in Covid time I think it wouldnt be too hard to explain assuming a lot of places are still doing online come summer.

Whats the difference between elementary calc? Does it cover differential and integral calculus? It might look nominally worse but in the end, I dont think it will matter.

Reactions: 1 user
Generally fine to take a class or two in the summer. They don't like online classes but in Covid time I think it wouldnt be too hard to explain assuming a lot of places are still doing online come summer.

Whats the difference between elementary calc? Does it cover differential and integral calculus? It might look nominally worse but in the end, I dont think it will matter.