May extra science courses just for LOR? Any opinion?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WannabeMAAWFAN

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This will be my first post in dental forum. I am applying for Dental school this 2009 cycle. I graduated many years ago. Since I am a non-science major (nursing), I have only one biology professor who I feel comfortable about asking for LOR. However, most dental school will ask for two letters from science instructors. I called UOP and Temple, and they said I can substitute my nursing faculty advisor for a science professor (but my application may not be as strong as other applicants). I think getting an extra LOR from a science professor will expand my choices for schools, since Temple and UOP are very competitive.

Anyone non-traditional student has this kind of dilemma?? Paying ~$900 & lose my hours at work just to take a 4-credit Analytical chemistry course? And there's no guarantee whether I will get A and whether she will write me letter.

Members don't see this ad.

This will be my first post in dental forum. I am applying for Dental school this 2009 cycle. I graduated many years ago. Since I am a non-science major (nursing), I have only one biology professor who I feel comfortable about asking for LOR. However, most dental school will ask for two letters from science instructors. I called UOP and Temple, and they said I can substitute my nursing faculty advisor for a science professor (but my application may not be as strong as other applicants). I think getting an extra LOR from a science professor will expand my choices for schools, since Temple and UOP are very competitive.

Anyone non-traditional student has this kind of dilemma?? Paying ~$900 & lose my hours at work just to take a 4-credit Analytical chemistry course? And there's no guarantee whether I will get A and whether she will write me letter.