1. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

May extra science courses just for LOR? Any opinion?

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by WannabeMAAWFAN, May 30, 2008.

1. WannabeMAAWFAN

Pre-Dental
    This will be my first post in dental forum. I am applying for Dental school this 2009 cycle. I graduated many years ago. Since I am a non-science major (nursing), I have only one biology professor who I feel comfortable about asking for LOR. However, most dental school will ask for two letters from science instructors. I called UOP and Temple, and they said I can substitute my nursing faculty advisor for a science professor (but my application may not be as strong as other applicants). I think getting an extra LOR from a science professor will expand my choices for schools, since Temple and UOP are very competitive.

Anyone non-traditional student has this kind of dilemma?? Paying ~$900 & lose my hours at work just to take a 4-credit Analytical chemistry course? And there's no guarantee whether I will get A and whether she will write me letter.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. BioMaxDDS

BioMaxDDS It will come true

Dental Student
    I think a good LOR from nursing professor is better than a science professor who doesn't really know you that well.

4. supraman

supraman Boston Celtics

Dental Student