mbbs to md

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fuegorama

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all-
1st time posting in this part of the forum.
I am a 3rd year DO student. My current attending is a rock-star doc who received a MBBS in India during the 80s. He proceeded through a residency in that country then came to the US 15 years later. He then did 2 years of what amounted to volunteer time in a facility here then completed an additional residency.

On his wall he has his initial MBBS diploma, then a certificate from his volunteer program w/his name followed by M.D. He also has his American Board of Medical Specialties diplomate certificate with his name and "M.D., MBBS". This last sheepskinny looking thing is dated most recently.

My questions are-
How does the MBBS convert to the M.D.?
What is the testing regime?
Who confers the M.D.?
Is there a site you folks could direct me to that would provide this info?

I did a search and struck out.

I would like to ask my attending, but I feel like it might be offensive. Silly? Probably, but this guy really is a master in his field and I don't want to p iss off someone I admire.
Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

fuegorama said:
Hey y'all-
I am a 3rd year DO student. My current attending is a rock-star doc who received a MBBS in India during the 80s. He proceeded through a residency in that country then came to the US 15 years later. He then did 2 years of what amounted to volunteer time in a facility here then completed an additional residency.

On his wall he has his initial MBBS diploma, then a certificate from his volunteer program w/his name followed by M.D. He also has his American Board of Medical Specialties diplomate certificate with his name and "M.D., MBBS". This last sheepskinny looking thing is dated most recently.

My questions are-
Who confers the M.D.?