MCAT Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tennille

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am studying for the MCAT (taking it end of May) and I am running into HUGE trouble. The first time I took a practice test I scored mid 20s (not good enough) but I contributed it to me not finishing ochem II and physics II. I am currently taking those two courses/labs and working part-time. However, each time I take a practice test my score keeps going DOWN!!!! I have no idea what to do and I am so afraid that by May it will be just as bad!! I know my stuff but I do horribly on standardized tests not to mention I am so nervous to the point of getting sick. I guess I wanted some advice from anyone who just couldn’t get their score to improve and if they did—how did you do it? If you couldn’t score higher—could other aspects of your application make up for it? Worst case scenario, if I only say end up with a mid-20s score, will it be the make it or break it for me to get into med school? I have a lot of other things that make me competitive (current GPA 4.0, 4.0 M.S, 3.52 B.S; Honors/Advanced courses; research experience this coming summer and fall…does any of this count???) I’m so worried. Please help. :scared:

Members don't see this ad.

I can't help you with improving your score. Familiarize yourself with this to answer your last question: http://www.aamc.org/data/facts/applicantmatriculant/table24-mcatgpa-grid-3yrs-app-accpt.htm.

With a 3.52 / 25 MCAT, you only have a 25% chance of getting into a medical school. If you are from California, then you are in trouble as I'd imagine that a lot of those with 3.5/25 are applying in states where their local medical school doesn't have insane stats. Also this data is from 05-07 and it has become more competitive.

P.S. - just realized you are from NY. Ignore the CA comment.