MCAT Prep Course

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiringdoc09

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need serious help. I did search the forums but was not able to get enough information to make an informed decision.

I am planning to take a prep course for an April 2013 MCAT and I need the course because I have tried everything else on my end. I took it 2x in 2009 and didn't take it as seriously (felt it wasn't a big deal) and did subpar. I started studying off and on last year with both intense and light studying for the year (50/50) using EK, TPRH set, and couple of BR books and figured if I focused and took it a lot seriously I would do better. I did improve by 4 points (22Q) but I feel I am missing something: test-taking. I have always done poorly on standardized test but I need to figure out why.

For those of you who took a prep course Kaplan or Princeton can you give me some insights? Also, for those who took the online versions of these courses, do you think it helped? I work full-time and am trying to find the best course for my buck because I only want to take the MCAT one last time and I am trying to get something that works for my 8-5 schedule (online vs in class).

Thank you for your help in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I think my PR hyperlearning class was really good for learning science logic from biology, ochem, gchem. It was really bad for physics and verbal, but for verbal you just need to practice passages consistently anyways. Physics was tough because I had to figure out ways to learn it, but there are plenty of youtube videos from khanacademy.org and freelance teach that you can just make up for it there.