MCAT scores --- drastic drop.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tombnelson

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got my second set of MCAT scores.
I originally had a 503 and the score dropped to a 492. I have absolutely no idea how this happened, I felt great about the test. I am simply crushed.
I have been waitlisted at a med school before, but now I'm doubting if that will happen again.
Undergrad GPA was 3.0, since then (all of my pre-reqs) I have been getting straight As and A-
I am a highschool biology teacher and I have been out of school for four years.
Any chance I could get into a DO school at this point, or did I kill that chance by retaking?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sorry no one has responded to you. You may want to consider posting in the Non-Trad forum instead.

If you were waitlisted with a 503, getting a 492 is possibly a red flag.

Try to consider the timeline of both takes, your preparation and circumstances, mental state, and anything else that could have caused the drop.

Reactions: 1 users
Hi Tom,
Definitely post this in the non traditional student area. Honestly, you won't get in with a 492. I dont want to sound mean I just dont want you to waste your money. Wait a cycle, take some time to study and get a KILLER score next year, and apply then. They will love that you have teaching experience and As and A-s in your prereqs, but you need to show to them that you have mastered the material, the MCAT will show that. Even get your score to a 508/510 and you will get in somewhere. The 492 was just a bad day, you really can do it easily. I believe in you! Just give it a year.

Reactions: 1 user
I just got my second set of MCAT scores.
I originally had a 503 and the score dropped to a 492. I have absolutely no idea how this happened, I felt great about the test. I am simply crushed.
I have been waitlisted at a med school before, but now I'm doubting if that will happen again.