MCAT Study Plan for Full Time Student + Part Time Employee

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CareerStudentMike

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have done some searching and I feel as though my situation is unique enough that this is worth posting. So I am currently a clinical laboratory science student, doing the program postbacc after getting a degree in microbiology. The work as a medical laboratory scientist is good, but I have always intended on going to medical school, and this degree gives me a nice fall back. My undergraduate GPA from my micro degree was a 3.25. I am currently at a 3.6 in this program. I am also getting plenty of clinical experience both in volunteering as a phlebotomist at a free clinic and working part time in the microbiology lab of a large hospital.

However, it has come to my attention that I would be best served to do very well on the MCAT, if I want a true shot. I am trying to figure out what to do in regards to studying for it. I have EK. That is it so far. I had originally signed up to take this last August test, but I just got married this summer and things were far too chaotic, along with a molecular biology course for CLS program, to fully dedicate to studying. I cancelled the test until further notice.

Ideally, I would like to take the test next June or July. The thing is, the CLS program is very intense, far more intense than my bachelors in microbiology ever was. It feels unrealistic to be able to put in any kind of significant studying for the MCAT while trying to prepare to handle the clinical rotations I will be on for this program starting in November, in addition to being ready to take the ASCP boards to become certified MLS(ASCP). I literally have to study endless hours at a time to make sure I can keep this 3.6+ GPA.