MCAT timing & retaking classes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kelli

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a nontrad. applicant (26 years old) and am planning to apply to medical school for the 2009 matriculation cycle. I'm currently working to save money and am waiting until my daughter is a bit older so she can better handle crazy family life with me being a busy med student.

I'm wondering when is the best time to take the MCAT? I have a relatively easy schedule this summer and could take the August 2006 MCAT if I started studying now. I figure that since MCAT scores are good for 3 years this should be fine. But I'm wondering if medical schools look down on scores that are a few years old? Problem is that I forsee being extremely busy in the next couple of years and don't know when I'd have a large chunk of quality time to study again. I suppose I could start gradually studying in bits & pieces now and take the MCAT a few years later, but I'd prefer just to get it all done now. Any advice?

Also I have a 3.4ish GPA but am hoping to get into a CA school which I hear is ridiculously hard. I have 2 C's on my undergrad transcript :scared: (both in Ochem). I naturally struggle with Ochem and I was young and stupid then and never asked for tutoring. Although oddly enough I earned A+'s in the lab components of both classes. Should I retake my Ochem classes? I'd have to retake them through extension or community college courses. Still worth it?

Oh I guess I should say that I've taken some recent coursework like biochem and such and did well. But 2 Cs on my undergrad transcript just make me cringe.

Members don't see this ad.

shameless bump. :p

kelli said: