MD or JD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sir Kade

I'm nobody. Who are you?
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off, as my first post here, I'd like to say hello to everyone who reads this post and furthermore preemptively thank them for reading this.

Here's the gist, I am currently an undergrad and I basicly have two loves (as far as I've discovered) which I would love to make careers out of. These being Medicine and Law. I know mixing the two would be very hard from what I have heard. Basicly, for me, it would be a hard choice to decide which one I should do.

Here are the advantages and disadvantages from what I have gathered,

JD: Cheaper by some amount, only three years(even though I heard the three years after graduation is nothing but legal research for your firm), less gratifying than saving a life, still there is debt, chance at litigation and trial experience, if I decide to ultimately become a Doctor I'll have more life exprience than when I am 21-22 hotshot.

MD: Much more expensive, and thus more debt, 8+ years of Med school Internship and residency, chance to do scientific research, Working for the best of your patient, might dislike it(I've seen quite a few bitter Doctors in my day, but I've also seen happy Doctors too), in general longer hours, better pay.

So yeah, some of my thoughts, while most of you are not lawyers, I believe I did see one or two while lurking and reading stuff.

I am not really seeking a way to be 100% sure I choose the right path. I'm just shooting off my thoughts and hoping to get some good advice back or cover something I missed.

Members don't see this ad.

Sir Kade said: