MD/Stripper/BlackJackDearler: Which One Now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WonderCole

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
To Whomever Can Answer:
My name is Cole. I am 22, and in graduate school. I have been pursuing an exit to the labrinyth known as medical school admissions. A few schools were nice (FEW), and the rest said everything short of McDonald's is hiring. I am not good at tests at all, and I know it has hurt me. I have taken the MCAT 3 times (stop laughing) and the highest I have gotten is a 22 (two 7s, one 8, and a S). I am not sure if I should try and take a Kaplan course and try one last time. I want to be an MD and not necessarily an RN. I realize that the embarrassment will grow, but it is a chance I am willing to take. I have years of volunteer experience in hospitals (10), I have counseled drug addicts and runaways, have worked on 2 research studies, and I am working on a MS. It seems like the damn MCAT keeps deflating my tires.
If anyone can give me advice without hinting "Do you want fries with that?", I would really appreciate it.
Thank you.
Hopeful future MD,
Cole

Members don't see this ad.

If you are really passionate about pursuing an MD, I say keep going for it. I really, really REALLY, hated studying for that stupid MCAT, but I knew I'd never be happy as an RN, PA, or anything else for that matter. So I sucked it up, got the parents to fork over the $1100 bucks for Kaplan(gotta love 'em), and I studied like it was my job for three months. Incidentally, I also had a full time real job at the time.