med school experiences?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chemie02

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
HI everyone,

i'm a relative health newbie curious to learn more about med school, and people's impressions about med school as i'm considering medicine or another health related field.

how do the 4 years of med school break down? ie: what are the first 2 years like course-load/work-wise? what major hurdles are there in med school? what do you do with your summers, etc?

what is the biggest challenge you guys have faced during med school?? what did you really like/dislike about it?

any general information would be appreciated! thanks in advance :)

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome Chemie02... and all other nubies out there.

A great place to start learning about what med school is like is to do a search on SDN. You can find a variety of information already posted. It would be good to read through the AACOMAS web site to learn about how med school breaks down. If you want more information there are any number of great books out there to help.

Feel free to ask specific questions you have as they may help others who are too shy to ask.

Good luck ;)

chemie02 said:
HI everyone,

i'm a relative health newbie curious to learn more about med school, and people's impressions about med school as i'm considering medicine or another health related field.

how do the 4 years of med school break down? ie: what are the first 2 years like course-load/work-wise? what major hurdles are there in med school? what do you do with your summers, etc?

what is the biggest challenge you guys have faced during med school?? what did you really like/dislike about it?

any general information would be appreciated! thanks in advance :)

2 years classroom, 2 years clinicals, generally

hurdles are boards (step 1 & 2)