saffronrain

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 5, 2005
Status
Other Health Professions Student
Hi I'm new to this whole forum thing on here, but I have a question regarding Medical Schools and what they "like."

If I were to take Physics or Genetics (some science course) over the summer, would Med Schools frown upon that? Or do they not mind?

I've asked my advisor and even he seems to be quite uncertain.

Please let me know, as I'm very confused! :confused:

Thanks! :)

Skichic56

Phalaenopsis Orchid
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 10, 2004
Status
I highly doubt this would be frowned upon, unless you were trying to take them at a community college or something. I took physics 2 and a few other elective bios over the summer because it freed up time for research, etc. in other semesters. If nothing else it allows you the freedom to take more classes (advanced bios/chems/whatever), start preparing for the mcat earlier, and gives you the most time to study and really do well. I don't think it will look good if you get C's with only a few classes, but just do well and don't worry about it. I really can't see any disadvantage to doing this.

Dr Who

Future MD...
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Dec 30, 2004
Somewhere out there
Status
Resident [Any Field]
saffronrain said:
Hi I'm new to this whole forum thing on here, but I have a question regarding Medical Schools and what they "like."

If I were to take Physics or Genetics (some science course) over the summer, would Med Schools frown upon that? Or do they not mind?

The short answer is NO.
They dont care when you took the requisite courses so long as you took them. More important than that is your GPA and MCAT scores. So go ahead and take summer courses. I took organic chem and physics during summer and I did good. In the end I was accepted to 5 med schools and non made an issue out of it.

About the Ads

hooniedee

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 13, 2004
Status