medical school grades/boards for GI?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xenophila

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Im a third year med student at US allopathic school in DC and am wondering how are step1 and 2 scores factored into decision making for Gi interviews if at all? I have a 223 step 1 taking step 2 next year... from the chatter i have heard from IM forum is that step 1 is looked at... is that true? I don't see the correlation of just 2 years of medical school and taking step 1 vs 7 years being in medicine even with just mediocre grades/boards and why step 1 would matter.
So before I apply and go into IM (i really don't want to be stuck in IM)... I was wondering how competitive is GI and what would I need to do in residency or even now to increase my chances??

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

GI is very competitive. Probably the most competitive field in Internal Medicine. And yes, GI programs do look at Step scores, including Step I. Study hard for Step II and III and improve your score and do well in your Internal Medicine residency. Make sure to get to know the GI faculty at your residency and get involved in research during residency. I had the exact same score as you on my Step I and I just matched into a GI fellowship at a large university program. Even though GI is competitive, don't think it is unreachable just because you had an average score on Step I. Good luck!

Hello,

Im a third year med student at US allopathic school in DC and am wondering how are step1 and 2 scores factored into decision making for Gi interviews if at all? I have a 223 step 1 taking step 2 next year... from the chatter i have heard from IM forum is that step 1 is looked at... is that true? I don't see the correlation of just 2 years of medical school and taking step 1 vs 7 years being in medicine even with just mediocre grades/boards and why step 1 would matter.