Medical School Requirements: Not a FAQ

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shaybaybay91

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I graduated from UCLA with a Business Economics degree. Along the way, I tried to complete as many of the pre-med requirements but was unable to finish the physics requirements. I decided to finish the general physics requirements at CSULB as well as some additional upper division courses. I'm currently an open university student at CSULB, however, I found out after taking the physics class that any lower division courses will not be counted towards my GPA at CSULB since I already have a BA. My question is, will the course still count as fulfilling the physics requirement if I received a letter grade upon completion of the class, but the course shows as zero credits on my transcript? I tried asking the counselor assigned to open university students, but she didn't sound too sure about her answer. I sent another email to a UCLA counselor and am awaiting a reply. Anyone else know the answer or have had a similar experience? Any advice would also be greatly appreciated, and thanks for you time.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know much about CSULB, but showing as zero credits on your transcript might be an issue. My first impression is that it will not fulfill your physics requirement, because many medical schools require a certain number of credits on pre-reqs. Just having a letter grade might be insufficient, probably.

Dang it, I was hoping that wouldn't be the case if I completed the course. Thanks for your input, I guess I'll have to just wait for a counselor to respond to find out what my options are.

Members don't see this ad :)